Release Day: THE GOLDEN CITY, Book 2 of the Brighton Duology

Brighton Duology FB Cover

TODAY’S THE DAY – I can’t believe it! I’ve waited months for September 4th, and now that it’s finally here, I can’t wait to share The Brighton Duology sequel with you. When The Blood King released in April, I knew I didn’t want to wait too long to share Brighton’s fate with you, and sure enough, it’s time to finally get it in your hands.

You can find easy click links below, along with descriptions. If you get a chance to read it, I truly hope you enjoy it – this YA dystopian story is something I’m not only proud of, but it’s probably my favorite thing I’ve ever written. I believe so wholeheartedly in this story, in these characters, and I’m so glad I get to celebrate with you. As cheesy as it gets with a Golden Girls reference, thanks for being a friend.

Have an awesome week! xoxo — Liz


The Golden City CoverRead THE GOLDEN CITY Now! $0.99 for release week only.

Down with the Blood King.

Reina Torres and Princess Helena just barely managed to escape the city of Brighton, thanks to the rebels. They now find themselves at the heart of the revolution, planning missions and infiltrating Brighton’s network. An enraged King Magnus doesn’t just want Reina and the rebels to pay, but to suffer; if it’s war they want, it’s war they’ll get.

With Helena by her side, Reina wants so much more than survival. But to live, she’ll have to go back inside the Tower, the last place she ever wanted to see again. No matter how far they run or how hard they fight, it seems their paths are destined to intertwine with the golden city … and the Blood King.

Fans of The Darkest Minds, Hunger Games, and Divergent will love this Young Adult dystopian romance.

Get the sequel for $0.99 (it’ll go to $3.99 after release week).

AMAZON  |  AMAZON UK  |  IBOOKS  |  B&N  |  KOBO


The Blood King CoverGet THE BLOOD KING $0.99 Promo!

It’s the final week to get THE BLOOD KING on sale for just $0.99. Grab it now before it goes back to $3.99!

From USA Today Bestselling Author Liz Long comes a new duology that “…belongs on the shelf with The Hunger Games and the Divergent Series.”

When seventeen-year-old Reina is accepted to KEY, the King’s Education for Youth, she knows she’ll have to hide her true identity, as same-sex relationships are strictly illegal under President-turned-King Magnus Brighton’s rule. What she couldn’t have anticipated was the King taking a personal interest in her, and his plan to have her marry his cruel son. When Reina discovers refusing the marriage means a punishment far worse than death, she also stumbles upon the reason King Magnus hasn’t aged in decades, and finds herself in the middle of a civil uprising.

Will she escape the King’s wicked reign or will she be lost to Brighton’s dark secrets?

In Brighton, blood means everything. Long live King Magnus.

Get THE BLOOD KING for $0.99 now before it goes back to $3.99:

AMAZON  |  AMAZON UK  |  IBOOKS  |  B&N  |  KOBO

Win THE GOLDEN CITY Sweepstakes!

Want to win a gift basket with all kinds of my very favorite goodies, like Amazon and Target gift cards, candles, notebook and gel pens, bookmarks, a Luna Lovegood Funko, candy, and more?

Pre-order THE GOLDEN CITY (Book 2 of the Brighton Duology), snap a pic of your receipt and upload it between August 1 – September 4th, 2018 to enter for your chance to win the Golden City Gift Basket! Includes signed paperbacks, a $50 Amazon gift card, a $25 Target gift card, Luna Lovegood Funko, bookmark, candle, candy and more! You don’t want to miss these goodies as a small token of my appreciation! Good luck and #DownwiththeKing!

ENTER HERE!

THE GOLDEN CITY, THE SEQUEL TO THE BLOOD KING, RELEASES SEPTEMBER 4, 2018.

PRE-ORDER NOW FOR ONLY $0.99:

AMAZON  |  AMAZON UK  |  IBOOKS  |  B&N  |  KOBO

 

Still need to read THE BLOOD KING

As a special treat to celebrate THE GOLDEN CITY’s upcoming release, I’ve got THE BLOOD KING on sale for just $0.99. Don’t miss out! 

AMAZON  |  AMAZON UK  |  IBOOKS | B&N  |  KOBO

Preorder Alert: The Golden City, Book 2 of the Brighton Duology

I’m so excited to let you guys know that THE GOLDEN CITY is now up for pre-order! I swear I don’t say this to toot my own horn, but I truly believe it’s my best book yet; this one is an edge-of-your-seat, fast-paced page-turner and I think you’re going to love it! While Reina sees the King’s side of things inside the city in the first book, the sequel introduces a new side of the kingdom, including rebels and other allies. If you like your dystopia action-packed, this one’s a winner!

Need to read book 1 first? Get THE BLOOD KING and learn all about Brighton’s dark doings to become a glorious kingdom.

The Golden City, the sequel to The Blood King, releases September 4, 2018.

Pre-Order Now for Only $0.99:

Amazon  |  Amazon UK  |  iBooks  |  B&N  |  Kobo

Down with the Blood King.

Reina Torres and Princess Helena just barely managed to escape the city of Brighton, thanks to the rebels. They now find themselves at the heart of the revolution, planning missions and infiltrating Brighton’s network. An enraged King Magnus doesn’t just want Reina and the rebels to pay, but to suffer; if it’s war they want, it’s war they’ll get.

With Helena by her side, Reina wants so much more than survival. But to live, she’ll have to go back inside the Tower, the last place she ever wanted to see again. No matter how far they run or how hard they fight, it seems their paths are destined to intertwine with the golden city … and the Blood King.

Fans of The Darkest Minds, Hunger Games, and Divergent will love this Young Adult dystopian romance.

Preorder the exciting conclusion of the fate of Brighton in THE GOLDEN CITY, Book 2 of the Brighton Duology, NOW!

Why Authors Love Reviews

Photography Workshop

I did that thing again. That thing I said I shouldn’t do, but I did it anyway…I read a review for The Blood King.

I know, I know. I’ve said it before and I’ll swear to it most days, that authors should not read their reviews. And I usually adhere well to that rule. The issue is that The Blood King is such new territory for me that I have no idea how readers will react, so any time I see a new review, I practically trip over myself going to read it. (Long, thy name is Masochist.) So when I saw I’d hit Review #20, naturally, the first thing I do? Drop everything and run over to the review page.

This review, to my heart’s extreme delight, turned out to be a 5 star, and was the kind of review where the reader just GOT IT (yep, all caps bold intensity). I’ll share it here, not to brag (I swear), but because talking about it out of context could get confusing. Here’s the review in full:

“This book is an amazing piece of writing. It’s a tapestry of a novel that at first glance is an entertaining and enthralling dystopian adventure with a villain that is easy to hate and a heroine that you want to cheer on. Then you notice that woven throughout are thought provoking issues relevant to today such as gender equality, lbgtq rights and political differences. This author is someone that will be getting my money for years to come because reading this was all it took for me to become a loyal fan.”

Let me just go ahead and tell you, I was having a day. Work’s been slam-ass busy; I’d gotten my feelings hurt over a two star review a week earlier (eventually talking myself out of the funk; authors do too get to have political thoughts, by the way); and my headspace is just a little wonky lately. So when I read this review, at just the right time I needed to read it, from a reader who simply got it?

I actually teared up at my desk. (Not like, bawling baby sobs, but just that relieved oh thank god kind of way.) This person, who I’ve never met in my life, suddenly became my incredibly powerful reminder as to why I write at all, on why I wanted to write this particular story. I knew going in that covering themes of LGBTQ and POC, and teetering on political, readers could either love it or hate it. I know my stories aren’t for everyone, and that’s okay. But this was simply the story I had to write. (I mean, for real guys, I was compelled. This story flowed out unlike any other.) For a reader to convey exactly how I wanted it to come across, and to take the time to put it into words, hit my heart hard. I was by no means considering quitting writing or anything before reading it, but afterwards there was a sudden pep to my step I couldn’t get any other way.

I don’t speak for all authors, of course, but I can attest that we don’t necessarily want reviews because it feeds our egos. For some, sure, but for most of us, reviews are more about tangible results of connection. It’s validation. For however brief a time, we shared a creation that meant something to someone else. They not only accepted our art, but loved it. The artists’ way, right? For authors, it’s incredibly rewarding when readers “click” with our stories (which is why it’s so devastating when they don’t), and that’s why, despite all my badgering you about not reading reviews, I occasionally break my own rule.

Because you know what? I guarantee it’s going to make me sit down and get to work in some way. Maybe it’s writing another story, or marketing the one the reader loved, or whatever; in any case, you’re motivated and that’s good enough for today. A good review isn’t important just for the sake of reviews, or rankings, or algorithms. It also means encouragement, motivation, and confidence. Readers, I hope you understand just how much your reviews mean to us –one sentence, ten paragraphs, no matter what, authors are always grateful.

(PS–Thank you to the reviewer who left that kind note for me on Amazon today. You’ve made my entire month.)